Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Assembly winter session

Following a majority members’ view in favour of adjournment of the session for a week, the session was adjourned after obituary references. The Assembly and the Council would now meet for seven days from December 21 to 24, and from December 29 to 31, it was decided at a Business Advisory committee (BAC) meeting held before the session. Both Houses of the State Legislature will assemble again on December 21, announced Legislative Assembly in-charge Speaker K G Bopaiah and Council Chairperson Veeranna Mathikatti in respective houses.

On December 31, the Legislative Council has organised farewell to 21 members whose tenure would expire on January 6.

Earlier, as soon as both House of the State Legislature met on Monday, they paid homage to former Union Minister B. Shankaranand, former State Minister D. T. Jayakumar, former MLAs Gopal Mukund Kanade, E. Nanaje Gowda, N. Nagaraju and Sharanappa Bhairi, who passed away recently, and recalled their contributions to various fields.

Both houses of the Legislature mourned the death people in the floods that hit north Karnataka in September-October.

In the Council, members paid tributes renowned yakshgana artiste Keremane Mahabala Hedge and the internationally acclaimed photo journalist T. S. Satyan. As a mark of respect to the departed souls, both Houses observed a minute’s silence.

Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, Leader of the Opposition Siddaramaiah, JD (S) floor leader H D Revanna, H S Mahadeva Prasad, Appaji Nadagouda Patil, and T B Jayachandra of the Congress remembered the services of former MLAs and expressed grief over those killed in the natural calamities.

In the Legislative Council, Leader of the House and Home Minister V. S. Acharya and Leader of the Opposition V. S. Ugrappa spoke on the life and achievements of Shankaranand, Jayakumar, Mahabala Hegde and TSSatyan.

No comments: