Sunday, November 6, 2011

Udupi: ‘Bhargava Samagama’ Convention of Bhargava Pravaras held

Udupi: The Bhargava Samagama, a convention to blend and build cordial relationship among all Bhargava origin people belonging to different pravaras, was held in Inna Muddanu Shri Mahalingeshwara temple under the leadership of Bhargava Trust, Inna on Saturday, Nov 5.

Minister of higher education Dr V S Acharya inaugurated the convention by lighting the lamp. In his address, he said that a state-level religious council ‘Rajya Dharmika Parishat' consisting of 8 members had been formed. The state council will be forming the district councils.
Stating that certain sections of the common religious endowment act had been challenged in the supreme court and that the authority of the government to make appointment to the administrative committees of temples has been questioned, he said that the supreme court has directed the government to amend the Karnataka Religious and Charitable Institutions Act.

The eight-member council will have dharmadarshis of different temples, minister for religious endowment and also its government secretary. This council will have powers to appoint the administrative body to all the state-level temples coming under the government.

In the second stage, district-level religious councils will be formed comprising district judge, agama shastra experts, representatives from SC/ST, backward classes, he added.

P Ramadas Madmannaya, president of Bhargava Trust ( R), Inna, presided over the function.

Senior archak of the Inna temple Inna Srinivas Bhat, senate member of Mangalore University Prof Sripati Tantri), senior advocate of state high court Padubidri Raghvendra Rao, administrator of Lakshmi Janardhan Temple Ujire Vijayaraghava Paduvetnaya and convener of Kashi Santhana Trust Yellur Y M Shridhar Rao were honoured by the guest.

Agama scholar of Dharmika Parishat Vidwan Panja Bhaskar Bhat , Chennai entrepreneur C R Balakrishana, Corporation Bank Mumbai CGM Balakrisna Bhat, entrepreneur Manjunatha Bharadhwaj, AGM of Karnatka Bank K G Ramesh Rao , K P Acharya Kaup and others were present. (Mangalorean)

No comments: