Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Who won? Depends on which newspaper you buy

Gauging the mood of the people from zilla panchayat and taluk panchayat elections is akin to touching different parts of an elephant with a blindfold and arriving at conclusions that suit you.

It’s all in the interpretation.

The lead headlines from the two leading Kannada newspapers show us why.

The BJP’s hold over the 30 ZPs has gone up from 4 in 2005 to 12 this year; the number of seats its members occupy in those ZPs has shot up three fold from 145 to 441.

Out of the 176 TPs, BJP has gained control over 68 of them, more than the Congress (31) and JDS (29) put together.

Yet, for Vijaya Karnataka, which is furiously pedalling backwards, it is “aralada kamala”, the lotus that didn’t bloom. And, for Praja Vani, it is “aralida kamala”, the lotus that bloomed.

So, has the lotus bloomed because its ZP tally has entered double digits, or has it not bloomed because it has not been able to obtain a stranglehold like the Congress did in 2005, winning 22 of the 27 ZPs?

Courtesy: Churumuri

No comments: